Boundaries

I remember one time my sister and I got into a fight (or rather she was upset and I was not apologetic) about using her bath towel. We had bath towels that everyone used, but after using it one time, we would hang it by a hook by the shower. I usually didn’t pay attention to which one I had used only that I knew had a towel hanging there or not. Then I would use it 3 or 4 times before deciding I should have a fresh one. Personally I don’t care if I share a once used towel with someone I know so long as it was used on a clean body. My sister didn’t feel the same way and was especially disturbed that I could not honestly say how many times we had probably shared a towel (I wonder if she remembers this…)

Recently my husband asked me where my towel was and I said, “It was over there.” and he said, “no, that was my towel.” So I said, “oh, then I’ll use whatever one is left.” He was bothered that I did not specifically know which towel was mine which is funny since he is not bothered by much. I really didn’t know. So I asked about a blue towel and he was very disturbed because that is the towel that he uses to put on the floor outside the bathtub as a bathmat (especially since our baby splashes a lot). I thought since it was just washed, it doesn’t matter.

So I am starting to think it’s me, not them.

I wonder which way my daughter will lean? We share towels, spoons, food, and until recently, my body even!

One thought on “Boundaries

  1. Mmmm… I share my towels with my husband and the both of us don’t have any disagreement about it. I guess some people can be a little too fussy about it and feel it as an invasion of privacy? (^-^;)
    My mum has a very strange way of using her towels which drives me crazy. You know those Japanese thin cotton Japanese towels typically given as a gift at a car dealership or a petrol station? She uses each of them just once and put them in the wash. I find her behaviour very emvironmentally unfriendly and also adds too much work on her already over-stuffed daily schedule. I’ve tried to reason with her but with no avail… 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

