Energy efficient cars : uncomfortably quiet

I am definitely in favor or renewable energy, but I am not a fan of a 1800 pounds of steel gliding down the road, turning corners like it’s on rails and pulling out of parking spots …silently. 

There are a lot of narrow roads in Tokyo and despite there being millions of people who walk on them, there is not always enough room for cars and people (sometimes not even for the cars without people). As the popularity of the Toyota Prius and then other hybrid and even electric vehicles have soared, so has my anxiety about them. Am I the only one? I hate to add a sound. Like that obnoxious shutter on a cell camera, but after a few years everyone is used to it. With my baby, I even welcome it because she likes the noise …and the flash, and anything bright, colorful or rhythmic. 

Your thoughts?

One thought on “Energy efficient cars : uncomfortably quiet

  1. Oh, I agree! There have been more than a few accidents in supermarket carparks in UK! People don’t realise a car is nearby because the engine is so quiet. I would definitely freak out if I turn and see a car right behind me!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

